Let’s travel together.


Cambodia is divided into 25 provinces (Khmer: ខេត្ត, khaet, singular and plural). The capital Phnom Penh is not a province but an “autonomous municipality”, equivalent to a province governmentally and administered at the same level as the other 24 provinces.

Phnom Penh has both the highest population and the highest population density of all provinces, but is the second smallest in land area. The largest province by area is Mondulkiri and the smallest is Kep which is also the least populated province. Mondulkiri has the lowest population density.

Each province is administered by a governor, who is nominated by the Ministry of Interior, subject to approval by the prime minister.

Provinces are divided into districts (srok, Khmer: ស្រុក) / Khan (Khmer: ខណ្ឌ). The districts of Phnom Penh are called khan, normally written as Khan for addresses in English. The number of districts in each province varies, from two in the smallest provinces to 14 in Battambang, Prey Veng, and Siem Reap. Further subdivision levels are khum (Khmer: ឃុំ, communes) or sangkat (Khmer: សង្កាត់, quarters) and finally, phum (Khmer: ភូមិ, villages). In Phnom Penh, Sangkat is used in the place of Khum and, similar to Khan, normally preferred as Sangkat for addresses in English.

CategoryUnitary state
Location Cambodia
Populations41,798 (Kep) – 2,129,371 (Phnom Penh)
Areas336 km2 (130 sq mi) (Kep) – 14,288 km2 (5,517 sq mi) (Mondulkiri)
GovernmentProvincial Government
%d bloggers like this: